It was the Lark, Herald of the Morn

*Disclaimer this post is in no way sponsored by Starbucks I just go there a lot*

I have discovered recently that I, McKenna Jean, am a morning person!!! For all the people who know me personally go ahead gasp loudly, I know, it’s completely unbelievable.  Me the impossible to wake, the grumpy gills of all 5k’s the stays awake until morning people wake up, am a morning person.

You see life post-hospital, I was so used to waking up early I rarely slept late; unless my routine was interrupted. However, two of the best days that I have had since then have been days where I unintentionally and naturally woke up at 3 am (side note, one of them was intentional slightly but shh that’s not the point).

When you wake up at 3 am first you get to enjoy the silence that is the entire world sleeping until a humanly hour, YOU HEAR THAT ALL YOU STARBUCKS WEIRDOS THAT WAIT IN THE DRIVE THRU UNTIL OPENING (I say as I write this in a Starbucks). Secondly, you feel like you have all the time in the world to do anything, I mean nothing is open (Except, Starbucks). It’s like endless possibilities! The sun isn’t even out yet.

But my favorite thing? The sunrise. I know for all you night owls before you say anything, yes, the sunset is pretty, but it cannot compare to the sunrise. That which is symbolic of new beginnings, a new start, endless possibilities, and all that stuff your high school English teacher droned on about that you thought was pointless (hey in came in handy for this irrelevant blog post but an irrelevant writer).

But really, in all seriousness, the symbolism of the sunrise bringing new beginnings, opportunities, and new adventures is so appealing, especially to someone who has spent a good portion of their life sleeping until 2 pm because well, honestly, who knows? Netflix?

This particular revelation? Yes I know, it’s quite sudden and out of the blue (and early in the morning) this change. Last night (mid-afternoon), I texted my sister for a favor, we had planned to hang out, but I knew she always had to go to bed early and I didn’t want to disrupt that. However when you get tired of driving and you just wanna see your big sister, waking up at 2:45 am is worth it (we also went to bed at like 8:30 pm so I still slept).

This time the morning was intentional, but I woke up with so much energy that I didn’t even know I could have waking up so early in the morning. It’s the most invigorating thing ever. Well I’m sure adrenaline junkies would say otherwise, but who cares I am not one of those people with a deathwish….well…..yeah….I’m not one of those people with a deathwish (….anymore). I have never woken up and jumped out of bed ready to do whatever! I have never gladly gotten ready and presentable for the public before the public even awaken. I have never passed up scrolling through social media nonsense on my phone for hours before finally dragging my lifeless soul out of my bed. But when I did, it was magical.

I have never woken up and jumped out of bed ready to do whatever! I have never gladly gotten ready and presentable for the public before the public even awakened. I have never passed up scrolling through social media nonsense on my phone for hours before finally dragging my lifeless soul out of my bed. But when I did, it was magical.

I mean yeah, I will probably crash at 8 pm but nothing interesting happens then anyway, (I’m 22, I’m not a party animal) except perhaps terrible American Idol auditions, however, that show is dead now, as it should have been ages ago. (wow that got way off topic…let me re-read to see how I got there, just follow my thought process as it happens.)

Okay, I see how I got here, kinda, that last part was ridiculous nonsense but I don’t wanna take it out, its like micro-funny. Back to the point.

There is something about this early hour that makes me want to just be a healthier person. Woah now, not food healthy! Like, healthy as far as habits are concerned, like doing yoga or something, or making me not look like a swamp goblin every day, or actually clean the swamp that is the room that the swamp goblin resides in. (Yes, yes I am the swamp goblin, and you would agree if you saw me on Monday when I was out and about in public!)

The final point about mornings though is that there is nothing greater than telling someone you woke up at 3 am because you wanted to, or being annoyingly cheery to all the people who are grumpy cats in the morning.

Now if you’ll excuse me the sunrise is in an hour or so and, I have to contemplatively stare out the window for it or read an important text like Shakespeare, or sketch, or something hipster and artsy. I mean, I am at a Starbucks.

Leave a Reply

