It’s Me Mckenna Jean

Hello Internet, it’s me. I know at this time I am most likely talking to the void. I figured I would introduce myself to the Void of data that is the interwebs. I am McKenzie, I know, I know, “if your name is McKenzie why does it say McKenna Jean?” Well my dear readers, it’s all thanks to my best friend Bliz. Bliz gives everyone a nickname and somehow that became mine and it stuck. Anywho, I am a Senior in College and I am embarking on the summer that is going to change my entire life.

Until now I have had a plan for everything in my life. I started college confused but by the end of my freshman year I had a 5 year plan. Get a degree in education, hold executive offices in my sorority, go back home and teach at a school that qualifies as a title 1 and will pay off my student loans, and then happily teach literature and History to students in the state of Georgia.

Fast-forward 2 years. Cue the screeching halt noise. My entire plan fell apart. Big shocker I know right! Who would ever have imagined that the path I chose before I had even had my first job, taken my first classes, and lived without my parents for the first time wouldn’t be what I wanted to do? I surely can’t imagine how a kid is supposed to plan their future with no experience at life. So here I sit, 1 year left until graduation and 365 days for me to figure out what I am going to do with my life.

I have endearingly referred to this summer of my life as my “Trainwreck Summer” and although for the first time I have no path…I am looking forward to it more than everything. This summer is dedicated to finding myself. Who I am as a person, as an artist, as a 21 year old cat lady, as someone who for the first time is free of a label telling me who I am supposed to be.

So welcome to the show, it’s going to be long, it’s going to be hard, and most of all it’s going to be wild!

Leave a Reply

